This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Algeria

Algeria is made up of 48 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Algeria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Algeria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Algeria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Algeria

There are 48 regions in Algeria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Algeria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Alger Wilaya d’ Alger1.2,988,145Algiers Algiers1,977,663
Boumerdes Wilaya de Boumerdes2.802,083Boumerdas Boumerdas786,499
Oran Oran3.1,454,078Oran Oran645,984
Tebessa Wilaya de Tébessa4.648,703Tebessa Tébessa634,332
Constantine Wilaya de Constantine5.938,475Constantine Constantine450,097
Biskra Wilaya de Biskra6.721,356Biskra Biskra307,987
Setif Wilaya de Sétif7.1,489,979Setif Sétif288,461
Batna Wilaya de Batna8.1,119,791Batna Batna280,798
Annaba Annaba9.609,499Annaba Annaba206,570
Sidi Bel Abbes Wilaya de Sidi Bel Abbès10.604,744Sidi Bel Abbes Sidi Bel Abbès191,769
Blida Wilaya de Blida11.1,002,937Blida Blida182,447
Tiaret Wilaya de Tiaret12.846,823Tiaret Tiaret178,915
Chlef Wilaya de Chlef13.1,002,088Chlef Chlef178,616
Bordj Bou Arreridj Wilaya de Bordj Bou Arréridj14.628,475Bordj Bou Arreridj Bordj Bou Arreridj168,346
Bejaia Wilaya de Bejaïa15.912,577Bejaia Bejaïa164,103
Skikda Wilaya de Skikda16.898,680Skikda Skikda162,702
Souk Ahras Wilaya de Souk Ahras17.438,127Souk Ahras Souk Ahras156,745
Djelfa Wilaya de Djelfa18.1,164,000Djelfa Djelfa154,265
Mascara Wilaya de Mascara19.784,073Mascara Mascara150,000
Jijel Wilaya de Jijel20.636,948Jijel Jijel148,000
Medea Wilaya de Médéa21.819,932Medea Médéa147,707
Tizi Ouzou Wilaya de Tizi Ouzou22.1,127,608Tizi Ouzou Tizi Ouzou144,000
Bechar Wilaya de Béchar23.270,061Bechar Béchar143,382
El Oued El Oued24.647,548El Oued El Oued134,699
Tlemcen Wilaya de Tlemcen25.949,135Tlemcen Tlemcen132,341
Relizane Wilaya de Relizane26.726,180Relizane Relizane130,094
Mostaganem Wilaya de Mostaganem27.737,118Mostaganem Mostaganem130,000
Ouargla Wilaya de Ouargla28.558,558Ouargla Ouargla129,402
Saida Wilaya de Saïda29.330,641Saida Saïda127,497
Guelma Wilaya de Guelma30.482,430Guelma Guelma123,590
Khenchela Wilaya de Khenchela31.386,683Khenchela Khenchela117,000
Laghouat Wilaya de Laghouat32.455,602Laghouat Laghouat113,872
Oum el Bouaghi Oum el Bouaghi33.621,612Oum el Bouaghi Oum el Bouaghi100,821
Wilaya de M'Sila Wilaya de M’Sila34.990,591M'Sila M’Sila100,000
Ghardaia Wilaya de Ghardaïa35.363,598Ghardaia Ghardaïa93,423
Tamanghasset Wilaya de Tamanrasset36.176,637Tamanrasset Tamanrasset73,128
Mila Wilaya de Mila37.766,886Mila Mila68,831
El Bayadh El Bayadh38.228,624El Bayadh El Bayadh64,632
Tissemsilt Wilaya de Tissemsilt39.294,476Tissemsilt Tissemsilt61,155
Ain Temouchent Wilaya de Aïn Temouchent40.371,239Ain Temouchent Aïn Temouchent57,354
Bouira Wilaya de Bouira41.695,583Bouira Bouïra52,500
Ain Defla Wilaya de Aïn Defla42.766,013Ain Defla Aïn Defla52,276
Tindouf Wilaya de Tindouf43.49,149Tindouf Tindouf45,966
Adrar Adrar44.399,714Adrar Adrar43,903
Tipaza Wilaya de Tipaza45.591,010Tipasa Tipasa25,225
El Tarf El Tarf46.408,414El Tarf El Tarf20,300
Wilaya de Naama Wilaya de Naama47.192,891Naama Naama8,390
Illizi Illizi48.52,333Illizi Illizi6,629