This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Algeria

Algeria is made up of 48 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Algeria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Algeria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Algeria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Algeria

There are 48 regions in Algeria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Algeria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Alger Wilaya d’ Alger1.2,988,145Algiers Algiers1,977,663
Setif Wilaya de Sétif2.1,489,979Setif Sétif288,461
Oran Oran3.1,454,078Oran Oran645,984
Djelfa Wilaya de Djelfa4.1,164,000Djelfa Djelfa154,265
Tizi Ouzou Wilaya de Tizi Ouzou5.1,127,608Tizi Ouzou Tizi Ouzou144,000
Batna Wilaya de Batna6.1,119,791Batna Batna280,798
Blida Wilaya de Blida7.1,002,937Blida Blida182,447
Chlef Wilaya de Chlef8.1,002,088Chlef Chlef178,616
Wilaya de M'Sila Wilaya de M’Sila9.990,591M'Sila M’Sila100,000
Tlemcen Wilaya de Tlemcen10.949,135Tlemcen Tlemcen132,341
Constantine Wilaya de Constantine11.938,475Constantine Constantine450,097
Bejaia Wilaya de Bejaïa12.912,577Bejaia Bejaïa164,103
Skikda Wilaya de Skikda13.898,680Skikda Skikda162,702
Tiaret Wilaya de Tiaret14.846,823Tiaret Tiaret178,915
Medea Wilaya de Médéa15.819,932Medea Médéa147,707
Boumerdes Wilaya de Boumerdes16.802,083Boumerdas Boumerdas786,499
Mascara Wilaya de Mascara17.784,073Mascara Mascara150,000
Mila Wilaya de Mila18.766,886Mila Mila68,831
Ain Defla Wilaya de Aïn Defla19.766,013Ain Defla Aïn Defla52,276
Mostaganem Wilaya de Mostaganem20.737,118Mostaganem Mostaganem130,000
Relizane Wilaya de Relizane21.726,180Relizane Relizane130,094
Biskra Wilaya de Biskra22.721,356Biskra Biskra307,987
Bouira Wilaya de Bouira23.695,583Bouira Bouïra52,500
Tebessa Wilaya de Tébessa24.648,703Tebessa Tébessa634,332
El Oued El Oued25.647,548El Oued El Oued134,699
Jijel Wilaya de Jijel26.636,948Jijel Jijel148,000
Bordj Bou Arreridj Wilaya de Bordj Bou Arréridj27.628,475Bordj Bou Arreridj Bordj Bou Arreridj168,346
Oum el Bouaghi Oum el Bouaghi28.621,612Oum el Bouaghi Oum el Bouaghi100,821
Annaba Annaba29.609,499Annaba Annaba206,570
Sidi Bel Abbes Wilaya de Sidi Bel Abbès30.604,744Sidi Bel Abbes Sidi Bel Abbès191,769
Tipaza Wilaya de Tipaza31.591,010Tipasa Tipasa25,225
Ouargla Wilaya de Ouargla32.558,558Ouargla Ouargla129,402
Guelma Wilaya de Guelma33.482,430Guelma Guelma123,590
Laghouat Wilaya de Laghouat34.455,602Laghouat Laghouat113,872
Souk Ahras Wilaya de Souk Ahras35.438,127Souk Ahras Souk Ahras156,745
El Tarf El Tarf36.408,414El Tarf El Tarf20,300
Adrar Adrar37.399,714Adrar Adrar43,903
Khenchela Wilaya de Khenchela38.386,683Khenchela Khenchela117,000
Ain Temouchent Wilaya de Aïn Temouchent39.371,239Ain Temouchent Aïn Temouchent57,354
Ghardaia Wilaya de Ghardaïa40.363,598Ghardaia Ghardaïa93,423
Saida Wilaya de Saïda41.330,641Saida Saïda127,497
Tissemsilt Wilaya de Tissemsilt42.294,476Tissemsilt Tissemsilt61,155
Bechar Wilaya de Béchar43.270,061Bechar Béchar143,382
El Bayadh El Bayadh44.228,624El Bayadh El Bayadh64,632
Wilaya de Naama Wilaya de Naama45.192,891Naama Naama8,390
Tamanghasset Wilaya de Tamanrasset46.176,637Tamanrasset Tamanrasset73,128
Illizi Illizi47.52,333Illizi Illizi6,629
Tindouf Wilaya de Tindouf48.49,149Tindouf Tindouf45,966